John Grant - Love Is Magic

Sold Out
Unit Price
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
SKU bella825vx

Deluxe Double 140gClear Vinyl housed in Gatefold Sleeve with Spot Varnish Finish. Comes with 300gsm Printed Inner Sleeves with Spot Varnish Finish, 16 page ‘Hymn Booklet’ containing lyrics, 24 Page Photo Booklet (including photos taken by John Grant) and Download.

In collaboration with Benge (Ben Edwards), analogue synth expert / collector and a member of electronic trio Wrangler, Grant’s collaborators earlier this year under the collective name of Creep Show on the album Mr Dynamite. Anyone familiar with Grant’s story will recognise his battles - with addiction and health, with trusting love and relationships. From this turbulence he’s forged another riveting collection of often brutal diatribes and confessionals, where humour, fear, anxiety and anger overlap as Grant, with trademark candour, figuratively exposes the machinations of his saturated brain. It’s epitomised by the album’s brilliant opener Metamorphosis, almost as if his warring psyches are facing up to one another, as impervious synth-pop and brain-on-fire imagery (“Tiki bar, rat soufflé, Buik regal, Marvin Gaye”) melts into dream-ballad introspection (“Questions left unanswered, spiritual extortion”) and back to synth-backed mania. The magic of love pervades in two gorgeous, magisterial ballads toward the end of the album, Is He Strange and The Common Snipe - referring to the wader bird that makes a unique ‘bleating’ sound by rubbing it's tail feathers together.

Genre: Electronica / Singer Songwriter / Synth Pop


1. Metamorphosis
2. Love Is Magic
3. Tempest
4. Preppy Boy
5. Smug Cunt
6. He's Got His Mother's Hips
7. Diet Gum
8. Is He Strange?
9. The Common Snipe
10. Touch and Go