De Staat - Red Yellow Blue

Sold Out
Unit Price
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
SKU 5522435

3 x CD

In November 2021, De Staat launched their project red, yellow, blue. After more than 1.5 years, the project will reach its apotheosis in June 2023 and the band will complete all the colours. Which will include songs like: Who’s Gonna Be The Goat? (yellow), Look At Me (red) and Running Backwards Into The Future (blue)

There was more peace and space during the pandemic to work on new songs together. During the creation process, they noticed different styles returning in their demos - all with the recognisable, own sound. After the first songs were ready, they were divided into primary colours for convenience. Those three colours represent states of mind: red for the dark side, yellow for lighthearted danceable songs and blue for melancholy. Together, they make up the full spectrum of what De Staat are at the moment. Once they saw that, they could push the boundaries within those frameworks. This working method gave direction for the further writing process, and it soon became clear that this was not going to be an album. Is it three EPs? Three playlists? One album? Maybe all of that. 

Where Torre always wrote most of the music, the band was involved in writing new songs more than before. This created tracks that otherwise wouldn't have been written. Andrew Scheps is the mix engineer of these songs. He received Grammy awards for his work on Red Hot Chili Peppers' Stadium Arcadium, Adele's 21 and Ziggy Marley's Fly Rasta.

De Staat was formed in 2006 by Torre Forim. Lead guitarist Vedran Mircetic, bassist Jop van Summeren, multi-instrumentalist Rocco Hueting and drummer Tim van Delft complete the formation. With its first five albums - Wait For Evolution (2009), Machinery (2011), I_Con (2013), O (2016) and Bubble Gum (2019) - De Staat impressed. They received several international awards for the song Witch Doctor and its music video. In addition, the song Kitty Kitty became the soundtrack of the Golden Globe winner I Care A Lot and the track can be heard in the video game Sackboy : A Big Adventure.


1. Look at Me
2. Head On the Block
3. Some Body
4. Paying Attention
5. Burning the Flag
6. Who's Gonna Be the GOAT
7. Danger
8. Peace, Love & Profit
9. Bombti
10. Numbers Up
11. One Day
12. Someone to Be
13. Running Backwards Into the Future
14. Take Root
15. What Goes, Let Go