Pelican - The Fire In Our Throats Will Beckon The Thaw

Sold Out
Unit Price
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Email me when this is available

Ltd Metallic Gold 2 x Vinyl

Pelican and Thrill Jockey present a deluxe edition of the band’s acclaimed 2005 album: The Fire In Our Throats Will Beckon The Thaw, newly remixed, remastered, and featuring special bonus rarities including an early version of “Red Ran Amber,” (previously only available on a split with Mono) and demos of “Autumn Into Summer,” “Last Day of Winter” and “Sirius”. The Fire In Our Throats established Pelican as indisputable masters of their craft. Pelican’s ability to alchemise their influences into a sound so wholly original and then expand on that sound into a work of captivating beauty remains a marvel. The album indelibly shifted the paradigm of heavy music and the ripples of that shift can be heard in the countless bands that have risen to prominence since its release. 

Nearly two decades since the album’s release on Hydra Head Records, The Fire In Our Throats has stood as not just one of the band’s most celebrated releases, but as a watershed work of avant-metal. The album arrives with a fresh mix by its original engineer Greg Norman and mastering by Josh Bonati, imbibing the songs with a new ferocity while also granting increased clarity, highlighting the developing interplay between each member. The refreshed mix brings an additional punch to the rhythm section of bassist Bryan Herweg and drummer Larry Herweg, bolstering the brightened melodies and interlocking riffing between guitarists Trevor Shelley de Brauw and Laurent Schroeder-Lebec. The more articulate presentation of the album showcases the power of each individual player while buttressing Pelican’s distinct sound as a unified force.

Genre: Post Rock / Instrumental Rock


1. Last Day of Winter
2. Autumn Into Summer
3. March to the Sea
4. *
5. Red Ran Amber
6. Aurora Borealis
7. Sirius
8. Ran Amber
9. Autumn Into Summer
10. Sirius
11. Last Day of Winter