Lloyd Cole - On Pain

Sold Out
Unit Price
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Format: Vinyl

SKU 0218643EMU

Black Vinyl

Through both his work being the front man of The Commotions and his solo career, Lloyd Cole established himself as one of the most articulate and acute songwriters of the post - punk era. He formed The Commotions in 1982 while studying philosophy at the University Glasgow. What originally started as a hobby for students, largely through Cole’s sophisticated style of writing, soon became a creative force to be reckoned with. The band’s debut, “Rattlesnakes” was a wry, heartfelt record of jangling guitar pop that was rich with references to the likes of Simone De Beauvoir, Norman Mailer, or Jules et Jim. The brilliance of this songwriting subsequently took over to his solo work, when he departed from The Commotions in 1987 to move to NewYork and establish himself as a solo artist. Undergoing several artistic shifts, from minimalistic to folk - rock - inspired to electronic, Cole’s work ever compromised the high creative value that he has proven to provide over his distinguished career. His artistic integrity and proven divergence make him one of the most capable and remarkable songwriters to this day.

This summer, Cole’s latest work “On Pain” – his thirteenth album in solo – will be released via earMUSIC. Following on from his last album ,2019's critically acclaimed "Guesswork", the musical style of “ On Pain ”consists mainly of electronic sounds. Once Lloyd Cole had formulated Vinyl Side Split a sonic picture of the record he wanted to make, the arrival of each new song gradually brought that picture into focus. His distinguishable voice and sophisticated lyricism invite the listener into the mindset of someone who has reached old age and is coming to terms with this. At times, the experience of listening to “On Pain” is akin to sitting in a sleek, state-of-the-art departure lounge, unsure of quite where you’re waiting to go.

Genre: Electronica / Singer Songwriter / Post Punk


1. On Pain
2. Warm By The Fire
3. I Can Hear Everything
4. The Idiot
5. You Are Hear Now
6. This Can't Be Happening
7. More Of What You Are
8. Wolves