Kronos Quartet - Kronos Quartet Performs Philip Glass

Sold Out
Unit Price
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
SKU 0075597905861

Nonesuch releases Kronos Quartet’s acclaimed album Kronos Quartet Performs Philip Glass on vinyl for the first time to coincide with Kronos Quartet: Five Decades, a year-long celebration marking the quartet’s 50th anniversary. Originally released in 1995, the album features David Harrington (violin), John Sherba, (violin), Hank Dutt (viola) and Joan Jeanrenaud (cello) performing Quartet No. 2 (Company) (1983), No. 3 (Mishima) (1985), No. 4 (Buczak) (1990), and No. 5 (1991), the first piece Glass wrote especially for Kronos. Recorded at Skywalker Sound in California, the album was produced by Judith Sherman, Kurt Munkacsi and Philip Glass. The cover art features Francesco Clemente’s painting The Four Corners (1985). At the time of the album’s release, the New York Times said, ‘It contains some of Glass's best music since Koyaanisqatsi. His ear for sumptuous string sonorities is undeniable,’ while the Washington Post called it ‘An ideal combination of composer and performers.’ It was a top 10 hit on Billboard’s Top Classical Albums, and spent 12 weeks on Billboard’s Classical chart.  

Genre: Neoclassical / Modern Composition


1. I.
2. II.
3. III.
4. IV.
5. V.
6. I.
7. II.
8. III.
9. I.
10. II.
11. III.
12. IV.
13. 1957 - Award Montage
14. November 25 - Ichigaya
15. 1934 - Grandmother and Kimitake
16. 1962 - Body Building
17. Blood Oath
18. Mishima/Closing