Ben Frost - Broken Spectre

Sold Out
Unit Price
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

2 x 180g Black Vinyl

Between 2018 and 2022, photographer Richard Mosse, cinematographer Trevor Tweeten and composer Ben Frost set out to rigorously document the Amazon’s environmental breakdown using scientific imaging and sound technologies, collating the results into Broken Spectre, a visceral, multi-channel installation that premiered at London’s 180 Studios in October 2022.

This album, an audio accompaniment drawn from 1000s of hours of sonic documentation and electronic composition, is presented on this double LP from The Vinyl Factory.

Various aspects of Frost’s contribution to the project are laid out on a lavish double LP and crafted especially for this format, housed in a gatefold sleeve. The album is an ambitious collage of evocative environmental recordings and complex electronic processes, Broken Spectre utilises the many skills Frost has developed over the years as an award-winning and critically acclaimed sound engineer, composer, and recordist.

Sleeve designed by Loose Joints, featuring photography by Richard Mosse.

Genre: Field Recordings / Ambient / Electronica


1. Report From An Obscure Planet
2. The Index
3. Love In A Colder Climate
4. The Burning World
5. Passport To Eternity
6. The Intensive Care Unit
7. The Garden of Time
8. Cry Hope, Cry Fury
9. The Killing Ground
10. Low Flying Aircraft
11. A Guide To Virtual Death
12. The Crystal World